Two Named to Forest Society Board of Trustees

November 2, 2008

Concord, N.H., November 3, 2008 — The Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests announces the election of Katharine Eneguess of Jaffrey and Jonathan Dawson of Deering to the Board of Trustees.

Katharine Eneguess has been president of NH Community Technical College Berlin since September 2005 and was interim president of both NHCTC’s Berlin and Laconia campuses from 2003. Prior to this role, Kathy led Cloveridge Consultants, an organizational development firm specializing in organizational strategies and rural community development initiatives. For many years she served as vice president of the Business and Industry Association and functioned as lead policy analyst for legislative, regulatory and government affairs issues, with a special focus on education, human resource, and rural policy.

She has served as on the boards of the the Northern Forest Center, The New Hampshire Historical Society, Berlin Economic Development Corporation, and Androscoggin Valley Economic Recovery Corp. She is an incorporator of the Belknap County Economic Development Corporation and co-chairs the NH Citizens Commission on the State Courts.

A seasonal resident of Deering, Jon Dawson was recognized as the Forest Society’s 2006 Conservationist of the Year. He has served on the boards of New Hampshire Audubon, The Quebec Labrador Foundation, The Deering Foundation, and is chairman of the board of the Dawson-Herman Capital Management, Inc. in Southport, Connecticut, a company that he founded in 1981.

Over the past decade, through the Tyrell Foundation, he has been directly involved in dozens of land protection projects resulting in thousands of acres of permanently conserved land in Deering, Hillsborough, and Henniker. Dawson’s land conservation efforts with the Forest Society began in 1999 when he helped acquire the Wilkins-Campbell Forest. He played a key role in the protection and creation of the 73-acre Young Forest, the 54-acre Kuhn (High Five) Forest, the 515-acre Penelope and John Dawson Memorial Forest in Hillsborough, named after Jon’s parents, and the 103-acre Edward Cobbett Forest, named in honor of Edward Cobbett who has served on the Deering Conservation Commission for 20 years. He also donated a 276-acre easement on his own land in Deering in 2006.

The new trustees join current board members Donald Wharton of Landaff (Chair), Katherine Hersh of Nashua (Vice Chair), Carolyn Benthien of Goffstown (Secretary), Maynard Goldman of Grantham (Treasurer), Peter Bergh of New Castle, Leonard “Hunt” Dowse of Hancock, Midge Eliassen of Sunapee, Stephens Fowler of Hanover, Stephen Kaneb of South Hampton, Amy Meyers of Jaffrey, Howard Moffett of Canterbury, Patrick O’Donnell of Concord, Hank Swan of Lyme, Stephen Taylor of Plainfield, Steven Walker of Jaffrey, and William Webb of Holderness.

The Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests is the state’s oldest and largest non-profit land conservation organization. In order to preserve the quality of life New Hampshire residents know today, the goal of the Forest Society, in partnership with other conservation organizations, private landowners, and government, is to conserve an additional one million acres of the state’s most significant natural lands for trails, parks, farms and forests by 2026.